Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

1. Registered User

Default Cracked Bass Drum - HELP!

Hey all,

I have a Pearl Masters Birch kit that I sold on eBay. However, during shipment, it was damaged. I packed this thing so good (took the lugs off and all), and somehow FedEx still managed to damage it. So long story short, the inside of the bass drum has a crack about 4-6 inches in length running from the edge of the drum (bearing edge and reinforcement rings) towards the center of the shell.

I wanted to inquire if anyone has had a shell crack on the inside and how to fix the issue? It seems to only be about half the plies, so it doesn't go through the whole shell. Any assistance would be appreciated!

Also, the lacquer was damaged too. Any tips on fixing that would be awesome, although not as big of deal, as I can live with it

Thanks again!

J.
    Pearl - Istanbul Agop - Evans - Vater - Snareweight - Drumdots

Drummers For Christ

2. A Passion Play ...

A quality thinned down wood glue and clamps will
    take care of the crack. Is the re-ring and or bearing
    edge damaged too ? The finish can be matched and
    Buffed out. Decent amount of work but it can be done.
    Please post some pics of the crack. Inside and out. Glue
    and wood filler can do wonders. Best of luck.
    Eric G : Pearl,pAiSTe,Remo,Vic Firth,SKB,Roc n Soc,Roland V-Drums. Masters MCX Chestnut fade.
    22"x18",10"x8",12"x9",16"x16". Ian Paice Snare. Why not ...

3. A Passion Play ...

Did you have any insurance with Fed-Ex ??
    Eric G : Pearl,pAiSTe,Remo,Vic Firth,SKB,Roc n Soc,Roland V-Drums. Masters MCX Chestnut fade.

4. Registered User

Quote Originally Posted by Eric View Post
    Did you have any insurance with Fed-Ex ??
    Thanks for the feedback! I'll definitely try my luck with wood filler and glue. Any particular brand you found works best for drums?