Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default Do you use your second kick?

I've got a monster Ludwig kit and I've wanted to add a 2nd kick to make it look more awesome. I've only played double kick pedals for short stints and I'm still learning - I have the space to hold the extra drum. Do you end up using your second kick or just a double pedal? or; did you return to single-pedal?
    Ludwig WMP Concert Toms: 6/8/10/12/13/14/15/16/18/20/24, 15" custom snare. Zildjian.

2. Registered User

Quote Originally Posted by Healthie View Post
    I've got a monster Ludwig kit and I've wanted to add a 2nd kick to make it look more awesome. I've only played double kick pedals for short stints and I'm still learning - I have the space to hold the extra drum. Do you end up using your second kick or just a double pedal? or; did you return to single-pedal?
    Well for me I love the look of a double kick and play it on all my kits. Now I am not out playing so I don't have to worry about lugging it around, but for home use I am in.

3. Registered User

I have always prefered the feel and the aesthetics of two bass drums.

I don't often get to gig with two bass drums; so it's double pedal for most live gigs.
    But when stage space, vehicle space, mixing board inputs allow... two bass drums every time.

For your particular kit... with all those toms, I think two bass drums is mandatory.

4. Purple Crazed

I do use mine. In fact, I have used it in conjunction with a double pedal. My left bass drum is a 20x16 and my right is a 22x18. I got the idea from Billy Cobham's tama kit from the 80s where he used a 22" and a 24" bass drum (on page 14: http://www.hoshinogakki.co.jp/pdf/ta...log/1981EU.pdf). The double pedal gets used to allow me to use the "slave" to play my (a) left bass drum, (b) right bass drum, or (c) both depending on which beaters are inserted.

Plus I think they look cool.

Pearl Purple Craze Reference Series