Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Post Learning to play drums by ear. What's your process?

I actually started my drumming journey on my own, without any guidance. I started playing along to songs on my own... I learned by listening to music, and watching people play on TV or live, and just experimenting. Lessons and structured learning, oddly enough, came much later. That said, my first instrument isn't even the drums; it's the guitar, and I taught myself how to play too, never having any lessons. I guess, what it boils down to is that I have an ear for this type of thing, as I can pick up instruments fairly quickly. Not a brag (or humble brag), but it is what it is.

So, some years ago I wrote an article for Drummer Magazine (a UK publication that folded some years ago) trying to distill my mental process of learning by ear for people (and drummers) who were curious about it.

Now, the article was a feature piece in the magazine, which is cool, but because it was printed, there was no two-way conversation about it. So I'm curious as to what your process is in learning by ear. I'd love to hear people's experience with this.

If you're curious / interested in reading the article, I published it on my blog here some years ago. Check it out here:
    https://nickschlesinger.com/playing-drums-by-ear

2. PEARL EXX

Have you every played with professional drummers and they was impressed with how you performed?

3. Registered User

Quote Originally Posted by NO DRUMS View Post
    Have you every played with professional drummers and they was impressed with how you performed?
    First off, you have to remember that professional means getting paid to play drums. I, for instance, am a professional drummer; it's my job. Similarly, just because you're a professional, doesn't mean that you have to be Dave Weckl or Eloy Casagrande. I'm most certainly not, but I do aspire and practice to be the best I can be.