Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

1. Registered User

Default Thoughts on self-learning drums

So, Im a drum teacher, and have been teaching for many years. Similarly, I believe in the value of education, and take lessons regularly, and do self study.

That said some people choose to go full solo in their learning... Are you one of those people? If so, I wrote a blog you might be interested in with tips for successful self-learning.

https://nickschlesinger.com/learn-to...ne-like-a-boss

If youre a drum teacher or a drum student, Id love to get your take on this, and if you have thoughts on the blog post, Id love to read em!

2. Miles Gibbons

I think you can be successful in achieving your goals no matter how you learn, but would say you have to be extra critical in your thinking, when you are teaching yourself... you have to make a point to actively absorb more information - without guidance from a teacher, you have to listen with great focus to music, and analyze what you are hear, and watch great drummers play, and analyze their methodology and movements so that you can pull some learning out of the experience. You have to be extra diligent in choosing how and what you practice, and be a little more critical and honest with yourself.

I think you need some sort of initial guidance, in order to self-learn effectively - one or two formal lessons, or some informal guidance from a friendly musician go a long way. Starting "blind" is not impossible, but adds an extra barrier to the learning process - what should you learn? How should you learn it? - it can be hard to find that path without some guidance.