Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. What's in YOUR stickbag?

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, IL
    Posts
    728

    Default MIDI patch selection

    A project I'm working with is looking at being almost an all-request band (that statement is an oversimplification), but they also want to use e-drums. They also want to use backing tracks (depending on the song) and clicks...I have no problem with any of that as it is the excuse I've been waiting for to get a Mimic Pro. I was going to use an old module that I have and trigger sounds from Superior Drummer, but the challenge seems to be a way to change the drum kit patches...the added challenge is that I would need to be able to have the patches changes non-sequentially. So the question is, can the Mimic Pro or any module) have patches loaded on the fly.

    Example I build 10 drum patches for a show 1-10. First song uses patch 1, second song uses 2, but third song is a request and it uses patch 8. We will be using something like Show Buddy to send MIDI, so would that work with the MIMIC Pro, if not, any ideas on how to make it work?

  2. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StickS707 View Post
    A project I'm working with is looking at being almost an all-request band (that statement is an oversimplification), but they also want to use e-drums. They also want to use backing tracks (depending on the song) and clicks...I have no problem with any of that as it is the excuse I've been waiting for to get a Mimic Pro. I was going to use an old module that I have and trigger sounds from Superior Drummer, but the challenge seems to be a way to change the drum kit patches...the added challenge is that I would need to be able to have the patches changes non-sequentially. So the question is, can the Mimic Pro or any module) have patches loaded on the fly.

    Example I build 10 drum patches for a show 1-10. First song uses patch 1, second song uses 2, but third song is a request and it uses patch 8. We will be using something like Show Buddy to send MIDI, so would that work with the MIMIC Pro, if not, any ideas on how to make it work?


    Hi,

    The Mimic has a Setlist mode that stores the kit and tempos for each song.
    You can send it a midi program change in Setlist mode and you don't have to touch the Mimic.
    The Sample load time is about 2 seconds and there is no audio drop out between kits.
    Last edited by Bob Sabellico; 10-29-2020 at 08:55 AM.
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  3. What's in YOUR stickbag?

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, IL
    Posts
    728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Sabellico View Post
    Hi,

    The Mimic has a Setlist mode that stores the kit and tempos for each song.
    You can send it a midi program change in Setlist mode and you don't have to touch the Mimic.
    The Sample load time is about 2 seconds and there is no audio drop out between kits.
    Thanks, Bob...I understand the Setlist mode and that it will change sequentially with a Program Change, but can the changes be non-sequential? for instance, I build a setlist with 10 songs. The band is using MIDI to change the live show parameters (lights, guitar patches, etc), but there is a change in the setlist during the show and we need to go from song 2 to song 7...would a Program Change command jump from the second song to the seventh (non-sequential), or does Program Change only go from second song to the third (sequential).

    (I won't have my Mimic Pro until Saturday or Monday, so I can't experiment with it yet.)

  4. What's in YOUR stickbag?

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, IL
    Posts
    728

    Default

    LOL..I was actually able to answer my question while asking the second...the answer should be yes...the program change message should include what program actually needs to be changed...I just need to make sure that the patches in the setlist match the program change being sent...I kinda knew that, but I haven't messed with MIDI in a couple of decades and forgot most of the little that I k

  5. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StickS707 View Post
    LOL..I was actually able to answer my question while asking the second...the answer should be yes...the program change message should include what program actually needs to be changed...I just need to make sure that the patches in the setlist match the program change being sent...I kinda knew that, but I haven't messed with MIDI in a couple of decades and forgot most of the little that I k
    Hi,

    You were correct.

    You can send a program change for any kit in the setlist.

    There is no specific order.
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  6. What's in YOUR stickbag?

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, IL
    Posts
    728

    Default

    Cool. That solves my primary concern. Secondary, is in relation to Playlist (audio/click tracks) is it possible to control Playlist via MIDI the same way as Setlist?
    I couldn't find anything in the Manual that mentioned MIDI control for Playlist. It's definitely not a deal breaker, but it would be nice to be able to run tracks from the Mimic.

  7. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StickS707 View Post
    Cool. That solves my primary concern. Secondary, is in relation to Playlist (audio/click tracks) is it possible to control Playlist via MIDI the same way as Setlist?
    I couldn't find anything in the Manual that mentioned MIDI control for Playlist. It's definitely not a deal breaker, but it would be nice to be able to run tracks from the Mimic.
    Hi,

    The playlist does not respond to midi program change.
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •