Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Registered drum user

Default Trouble with Pearl snare

Hi folks,

It's been a while since I've been around here, but have always enjoyed the PDF!

I'm looking for some help with a Pearl snare drum. The drum is a special edition burl mahogany snare I purchased around 2011. The drum sounded fantastic until a couple years ago. When I play the snare there is a weird high pitched twanging ring sound.

Now, before you suggest I check the tuning etc etc. I've been through all that. I've been drumming for over 15 years, and while definitely not an expert I have always been able to get a decent sound from my drums. I've owned 4 different snares and I tune and maintain the drum kit at my church. So i'm not a rank novice when it comes to tuning.

Here's what I've tried.

I have tried I believe at least 3 different batter heads. I have changed the resonant head. I have changed the snare wires. I have changed the snare cords. I have taken the heads off (3 different heads) and tuned and re tuned them. I've tried low tunings and high tunings. I understand sympathetic snare buzz and have tried to take that into account. I have tuned the resonant head flat (same tension all around) and then I've tuned the head to be tight on the snare beds. I have checked and re-checked all the lugs and hardware. I'm totally stumped. I cannot get the snare to sound good anymore after years of excellent sound.

I have had 3 different knowledgeable drummer friends look at the snare. None of them could solve it.

I have left the drum on a shelf for a couple years now, unable to get it to sound good, but cannot bring myself to get rid of it.

All I can think of is that either the hoops are out of round, or that the shell has somehow failed. Is there any way to tell? Any ideas of what else I can try?Name:  DSCN8217.jpg
Views: 159
Size:  92.8 KB
    ----------------------------------------------