Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. The Paiste Vault

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    2,400

    Default Lag issue while recording

    I am having an issue where I am playing along to a track and when I listen to the playback, I am slightly off by an eight note the entire track. This is a drumless track and I have recordings where I am just fine. I feel something is wrong with software somewhere but not sure where to look. Has this happened to anyone else?

    I'm using a Tascam US16X08 going into my Dell laptop where I am recording with Reaper.

    I've made many recordings without issues until this one. Help?
    See my kit here -
    Pearl Masters MCX-A Artisan Limited Honey Burst Mappa Burl

    22x18, 8x7, 10x8, 12x9, 14x14, 16x16, 14x6.5 and a 14x6.5 FFS Brass Snare


  2. Experienced Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Between Two Legs
    Posts
    1,992

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by solitary glen View Post
    I am having an issue where I am playing along to a track and when I listen to the playback, I am slightly off by an eight note the entire track. This is a drumless track and I have recordings where I am just fine. I feel something is wrong with software somewhere but not sure where to look. Has this happened to anyone else?

    I'm using a Tascam US16X08 going into my Dell laptop where I am recording with Reaper.

    I've made many recordings without issues until this one. Help?
    Did you recently increase the buffer size in your interface's drivers? That would cause the latency you are now experiencing (as well as increase stability and get rid of any pops/clicks you were hearing while recording or listening back/mixing before).

  3. The Paiste Vault

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    2,400

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Foreman View Post
    Did you recently increase the buffer size in your interface's drivers? That would cause the latency you are now experiencing (as well as increase stability and get rid of any pops/clicks you were hearing while recording or listening back/mixing before).
    Not that I am aware of Mike. Could this have happened if the software updated? Also, would this be on my Tascam (interface) or with my DAW?
    See my kit here -
    Pearl Masters MCX-A Artisan Limited Honey Burst Mappa Burl

    22x18, 8x7, 10x8, 12x9, 14x14, 16x16, 14x6.5 and a 14x6.5 FFS Brass Snare


  4. Experienced Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Between Two Legs
    Posts
    1,992

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by solitary glen View Post

    Not that I am aware of Mike. Could this have happened if the software updated? Also, would this be on my Tascam (interface) or with my DAW?
    You can access the buffer setting through the Tascam software you (most likely) installed on your computer. I would open that software, see what the buffer is set at, then lower it, record something, and see if the latency has improved. Keep doing that, going as low as you can without getting pops, clicks, and/or stutters in the audio. When those start appearing you will need to raise the value to get rid of those problems.

    One thing that can also help is optimizing the performance settings on your computer for audio production. There are a lot of good videos and articles about that, such as these from Sweetwater:

    https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...or-windows-10/

    https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...3-high-sierra/

  5. The Paiste Vault

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    2,400

    Default

    Thanks Mike!

    I didn't mention it but the pops and clicks are happening as well. I will look into all this and let y'all know.
    See my kit here -
    Pearl Masters MCX-A Artisan Limited Honey Burst Mappa Burl

    22x18, 8x7, 10x8, 12x9, 14x14, 16x16, 14x6.5 and a 14x6.5 FFS Brass Snare


  6. The Paiste Vault

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    2,400

    Default

    Well, i tried lowering the buffer size from 256 samples to 128 on my interface and it did not make a difference. I didn't have a chance to dig through the DAW (REAPER) but that is next. Wish me luck!

    P.S. this sucks!
    See my kit here -
    Pearl Masters MCX-A Artisan Limited Honey Burst Mappa Burl

    22x18, 8x7, 10x8, 12x9, 14x14, 16x16, 14x6.5 and a 14x6.5 FFS Brass Snare


  7. Starclassic Guy

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Alliance, OH
    Posts
    3,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by solitary glen View Post
    Well, i tried lowering the buffer size from 256 samples to 128 on my interface and it did not make a difference. I didn't have a chance to dig through the DAW (REAPER) but that is next. Wish me luck!

    P.S. this sucks!
    That could be an issue with the computer itself. Make sure you dont have any bloatware on your computer and close out of as many apps and programs as possible. You want all the RAM and CPU you can get when youre in the process of recording. Some windows updates can re apply apps and programs that you either deleted or shut off.
    http://www.pearldrummersforum.com/al...p?albumid=1153 <---- My Drums

    Formerly TreCoolFool

  8. Experienced Noob

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Between Two Legs
    Posts
    1,992

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by solitary glen View Post
    Well, i tried lowering the buffer size from 256 samples to 128 on my interface and it did not make a difference. I didn't have a chance to dig through the DAW (REAPER) but that is next. Wish me luck!

    P.S. this sucks!
    The drivers for one of my interfaces just never got it right. I think it was my Focusrite Clarett set up but it's been long enough ago & I've cycled through so many interfaces that I could be wrong about that. My solution was merely to load all my tracks into my project, highlight all the tracks, & slide them all together to the correct spot on the grid. It was an annoyance but only took a second or so to do at the start of each project. It could be that you will have to do this as well.

    I don't understand why it would happen some times and not others, though. My best guess is that it has something to do with other processes running in the background on your computer, but I can't say for sure that's it.

  9. The Paiste Vault

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    2,400

    Default

    Mike,
    I have been using this setup since October last year and never had this problem until about a month ago. Now, every recording is the same, I am off by a fraction, exactly the same the entire track. I began to question my own ability. It would be different if I came in too early or rushed a little here or dragged a little there, but it is consistent the entire track. So, yeah, I will attempt what you are suggesting to see if I can get the tracks to line up correctly as far as the time goes.

    Anyone else experience this issue?

    As always, thanks Mike!
    See my kit here -
    Pearl Masters MCX-A Artisan Limited Honey Burst Mappa Burl

    22x18, 8x7, 10x8, 12x9, 14x14, 16x16, 14x6.5 and a 14x6.5 FFS Brass Snare


  10. The Paiste Vault

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    2,400

    Default

    So.... Nothing I do is helping correct the problem. The latency issue is continuing. The popping issue is continuing.
    The only thing I can think of to do at this point is to uninstall all of my software and start over.

    This sucks!!!!!
    See my kit here -
    Pearl Masters MCX-A Artisan Limited Honey Burst Mappa Burl

    22x18, 8x7, 10x8, 12x9, 14x14, 16x16, 14x6.5 and a 14x6.5 FFS Brass Snare


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •