Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default new to recording

i am new to recording acoustic drums. i have been using electronic drums to record drum covers on YouTube but im looking to switch to acoustic drum recording due to constant breakdowns of the electronic equipment. i have a Pearl Vision drumset with Zildjian cymbals and i ordered this mic set and audio interface

mic set
    https://www.guitarcenter.com/Digital...00000014108.gc

audio interface
    https://www.guitarcenter.com/Tascam/...08368029228.gc

im not really looking for reviews on the equipment or better suggestions as im just breaking into this and this is what i can afford. how do i connect the equipment to a laptop? and what laptop is recommended to use, also what recording software?

as i said i am new to this since i have used my Alesis Crimson II electronic drumset in the past
    Pearl Vision Concord Fade fusion 10, 12, 14, toms 20 kick 14 snare. Paiste PST7 cymbals 16x2,18, crashes, 20 ride, 14 hi-hats

Pearl Decade Black Ice 10, 12, 16, toms 22 kick 14 snare Zildjian A Series cymbals 16,17,18,20 crashes, 21 Sweet Ride, 14 New Beat hi-hats

2. Registered User

This gear will work more than fine for in home recording. You should be able to connect your audio Interface through A Supplied usb cable (most Interfaces have 2.0USB)

For a laptop w/ minimum requirements
    8gb Ram
    500gb-1tb hardrive space
    Windows 10 or better (DO NOT go with mac computers because they cannot be upgraded past what they come with..)

DAW Software - choices
    Presonus Studio One v3 or v4
    Protools (if you got $700)
    Ableton Live

There's others but I only have experience with these Three... perhaps some of the other veteran users here could assist me in helping him out?

Random Question - What will you be using for Studio Monitors and Headphones to playback the recording to mix it?
    Last edited by DrumPlayerFTW; 09-01-2019 at 12:28 PM.