Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default Early '83 BLX? (#112)

Hello (vintage) Pearl lovers.
    I’m a drummer from The Netherlands and I’m in the lucky position to be doing just that, play drums.
    I recently acquired an early BLX(?!) kit in #112. It was a trade-in on an e-kit(!) at the drumshop of a friend of mine by it’s first/original owner. It’s a classic 5-piece 14x22, 8x12, 9x13, 16x16 and came with what I believe to be an M-514 period correct snare in near mint condition, also with a label attached on the inside. And a hardware package. Toms and bass have the paper quality control labels inside, stamps just a couple months apart. 1.6mm rims. Sofar everything seems to add up to an ’83 early BLX, however … . (I know this kit was bought new, as a whole in NL from a reputable drumshop and authorized Pearl dealer.)
    The accompanying hardware is from an earlier period. All the stands and pedals are from the ’79-’82 catalogs(?!) Both tom holders are geared TH-80T’s (or 800?), cymbal stands are 903’s & an 803BD, snare stand is an 806, HH stand is an 800, kick pedal is an 810S, FT-legs/feet are also the older style. Is this ‘common practice’ for those days? And what’s with the snare? The catalog lists a birch snare with these kits.
    It’s been on a mini festival tour with me in june and it sounds just great. Tunes up real nice and easy with clear Emps over clear Ambs.
    Any info is appreciated. I’ll add some eye candy. (snare still needs to be cleaned, already had similar/older ones)
    (Thanks to Drummer1977, BadAstronaut, 3pearlkits and others for their research and info.)
    D./
    Attached Images Attached Images     
    Last edited by Drummer-64; 07-03-2019 at 12:08 PM.

2. Registered User

Some more pics ...

3. Registered User

... last 4 Fotos.

D./

4. Pearl does it for me

Hey, welcome to the PDF and the vintage section in particular