Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default My drum wrap came in....

So Amazon is where I've been ordering wrap for my drums. I ordered a 24" wide x 118" long wrap material... its black woodgrain however it is thin and self adhesive. I was shorted on the width by .5 inches so I got 23.5 inches wide and 118 inches long.... which I can make it work but my concern is for the 1st 12 or 15 inches there are these long air pockets... I'm thinking that as I stretch and pull on the material to smooth it out that the air pockets will smooth out too... anyone with experience in wrapping drum sets please chime in. This is my first time doing this and I know I'll make mistakes but the less the better. I'm wrapping 8in, 10in, 12in, and 13in rack toms (none of which are deeper than 11inches, 16x16 floor tom and a 22x18 bass drum.

Name:  Screenshot_20181204-154220_Gallery.jpg
Views: 186
Size:  104.5 KB
    Name:  Screenshot_20181204-154254_Gallery.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  49.8 KB
    Name:  Screenshot_20181204-154305_Gallery.jpg
Views: 182
Size:  68.2 KB

I've got a roller and I've got long flat flesh colored tools used to flatten out any surface. I've watched a ton of videos but watching and actually doing it are two different things. Of course I'll get measurements 1st and cut the pieces I need but since the wrap is self adhesive should I use a backup plan for the seams? I originally wanted to use faux leather vinyl and just use double sided tape but unfortunately the company sent the wrong sizes and no longer has the size I need for my kick drum.... and I'm not wrapping the bass drum twice lol. Anyways thanks in advance for reading this

2. Registered User

those air pockets will roll out as you apply the wrap...should look good once its all done!
    My wife says I am no longer permitted to buy any more drums...I said okay you cant buy any more shoes...we are presently at an impasse! I see drums...she sees shoes!

3. Banned