Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default Beginner double bass drumming - where do I start?

So, I've been playing drums for 35 years, and for the entire time, my main setup has been either a four or five piece kit with one bass drum, but I recently decided that I'd like to learn to play double bass. After playing one bass drum for so long, it feels very awkward, especially since my right foot is so much stronger, and my left foot is underdeveloped. I realize that it will take some time, dedication, and good old fashioned practice, but I was just wondering if there are any good exercises or video tutorials that might help. I can play a basic beat using my left foot, and I've been doing that a little bit, but if anyone has any pointers on how to develop the strength in my left foot, that would be great.

2. The Sensitone Guy

I tried double bass and failed.

Decades ago, I played double bass for an entire year; trying my very best to make it a part of my style. I never got comfortable with it and going back to single bass was like meeting up with an old friend. I gave up my double bass aspirations and never looked back.

If you can figure it out, hat's off to you.

3. Registered User

I just started as well. I've been playing as much of my normal stuff as possible with only my left foot. I'll also do simple beats with both feet. 16th notes, '+ a' on the kick, etc. I'm no double bass expert as all, just beginning as I stated. But I'd imagine it would be like hands. If you can get the control down slow so you're not thinking about it you can get it sped up.

4. ...A mind like Water...

Control is the most important thing. Start slow, on a metronome and work your way up 1-2 BPM every week. If you can't play a speed that you reach, bump it back and hold it for a long time.

Control > Endurance > Dynamics > Speed - Speed becomes a symptom of the prior.

5. Registered User