Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default Lessons or self taught?

I figured out that I had a natural sense of rhythm and time at a fairly young age, I think 10 or 11, because I could listen to my iPod and play the drum patterns I was hearing by playing on my legs and tapping my feet. I come from a very musical family, so my parents caught on to my interest in drums fairly quickly and they signed me up for lessons. The guy I took lessons from was a real jerk, He knew full well I was a beginner and every time I would play something wrong he would get annoyed and say, "you're killing me." So after three lessons I quit and decided to teach myself. 14 years later I'm still playing and consider myself 100% self taught, Those three lessons did nothing for me so I don't count them. Would love to hear the stories of when you first started playing and if you took lessons or are self taught. Cheers.

2. Skeld-the -wicked

Hello, DD 91. At 14 my father took me for lessons at a local music store. I lost interest quickly due to immaturity. I used to regret that I didn’t stick with instructions but today I feel differently. I did take about 6 months of lessons in my late 30’s . I would say I’m more on the natural/self taught side of drumming . There has been times when I felt like walking away out of frustration with other musicians /bands but I made a commitment to myself to continue. No matter how big or small the audience is there is always a connection with someone. There is always room for Learning.
    Pearl Masters Premium Diamond Burst 6pc
    Pearl Masters Red Mahogany Classic 5pc
    14 x 6.5 Phosphor Bronze FF Snare
    Zildjian Cymbals
    Vic Firth sticks

3. The Hardware Guy