Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. HERTA so good!

Default New church kit.....FINALLY!

I have been playing drums for my church for a little over 16 years now. I have played 2 kits in total both of which belonged to the church. The first was a donated Tama swingstar that was rusted out and falling apart. Most of the stands were taped together. A few years after putting the Tama's through their paces, I was able to work snag a deal on a used PDP Platinum kit in silver to regal blue burst which was HUGE upgrade in sound. It was in overall good condition however, their was some spiderweb cracking in the finish on the bass drum and the owner did a horrible job repairing the batter side bass drum hoop(pictured below). I picked up a few PDP 700 series cymbal stands and tried to upgrade hardware as finances would allow since I seemed to have been spending quite a bit on acquiring my Artisan collection and various personal drum sets *facepalm*. Everthing was smushed nice and tightly together on a platform that was too small thanks to having to use a plexiglass drum shield . All of that being said, the PDPs have served me well and it is now time to move on.

With some help from a good friend of mine, we built a completely new drum riser and I was fortunate enough to work with the church and purchased a brand new DW Design series drum set with all DW 3000 series hardware. I am completely blown away by how good these drums sound. I've been skeptical of the Design series kits having owned a Collector's series previously and now owning a Performance series kit. These drums are right up there with them in build quality and sound. Not one single drum(out of 7) had a flaw or blemish and the paintjob is absolutely stunning! I'm really liking the mini turret lugs as well. I'm confident that these will serve my church well for many years to come. Enjoy!

NOTE: PIcs will start with old PDP kit, new platform, then the good stuff