Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Registered User

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Mimic Pro Sound Routing issue?

    Hey everyone,
    First post, so i hope im doing this properly?
    Has anyone with the Mimic figured out how to get ( live sound ) from Aux in (the aux port under Headphone Jack) to Main/Master outputs to play to Monitor?
    I can plug my phone or tablet into the Aux-in and get the sound to come out the headphone port. But it will not come out any of the Main/Master outputs?
    If i record a track or copy a track to the mimic. It will play through the Main/Master outs to the Monitor.
    I can also plug the Monitor into the Headphone jack and it will play live from Aux-in, but would rather not have to keep plugging & un plugging every time i want to switch from headphones to Monitor.
    Any suggestions? Or might this be needing a firmware update to fix?
    Thanks KZ

  2. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    299

    Default Recrding Playback routing

    Quote Originally Posted by kzrock1147 View Post
    Hey everyone,
    First post, so i hope im doing this properly?
    Has anyone with the Mimic figured out how to get ( live sound ) from Aux in (the aux port under Headphone Jack) to Main/Master outputs to play to Monitor?
    I can plug my phone or tablet into the Aux-in and get the sound to come out the headphone port. But it will not come out any of the Main/Master outputs?
    If i record a track or copy a track to the mimic. It will play through the Main/Master outs to the Monitor.
    I can also plug the Monitor into the Headphone jack and it will play live from Aux-in, but would rather not have to keep plugging & un plugging every time i want to switch from headphones to Monitor.
    Any suggestions? Or might this be needing a firmware update to fix?
    Thanks KZ

    Hi,

    When you press the Cassette icon at the bottom of the screen you go to the record mode.

    At the bottom of that screen is a tab named "Setup"

    In that window you can route your playback to the headphones or the master or both.

    Thanks,
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  3. Registered User

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Sabellico View Post
    Hi,

    When you press the Cassette icon at the bottom of the screen you go to the record mode.

    At the bottom of that screen is a tab named "Setup"

    In that window you can route your playback to the headphones or the master or both.

    Thanks,
    Hi Bob,
    thanks for responding, but i think you misunderstood my question? Or maybe im not asking it correctly?
    as i stated, i can get sound to either the monitor or the headphones once the sound is recorded or copied to the Mimic through the Aux-in Port.
    That part works.
    The problem is Live Sound Playing through the Aux-in. It will only play thru the headphone jack.
    Say you have your phone...Tablet....Laptop....playing a song from your library. You wat to hear the song playing along with your drums through the monitor.
    It wont work that way.
    But it should.
    The only way the song will play through the monitor is if you record it on the mimic or copy it to the mimic.
    or like i stated before is to plug the monitor into the headphone jack.

    Which brings me to another problem which idn if i need to start a new thread for is:

    Now say you have a song or track recorded. You want to play it back and add some drums to it and Record while doing so.
    once again it does not have an option to record from the internal .wav files being played. So it only records the drums as you play and does not record the Song or Track that you have playing in the background that is coming from inside the mimic.
    i hope these are just new release type issues that will be fixed FAST with a update?
    I dont want to go back to my old Module......
    Thanks for your time. KZ
    Last edited by kzrock1147; 07-24-2017 at 03:59 PM.

  4. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kzrock1147 View Post
    Hi Bob,
    thanks for responding, but i think you misunderstood my question? Or maybe im not asking it correctly?
    as i stated, i can get sound to either the monitor or the headphones once the sound is recorded or copied to the Mimic through the Aux-in Port.
    That part works.
    The problem is Live Sound Playing through the Aux-in. It will only play thru the headphone jack.
    Say you have your phone...Tablet....Laptop....playing a song from your library. You wat to hear the song playing along with your drums through the monitor.
    It wont work that way.
    But it should.
    The only way the song will play through the monitor is if you record it on the mimic or copy it to the mimic.
    or like i stated before is to plug the monitor into the headphone jack.

    Which brings me to another problem which idn if i need to start a new thread for is:

    Now say you have a song or track recorded. You want to play it back and add some drums to it and Record while doing so.
    once again it does not have an option to record from the internal .wav files being played. So it only records the drums as you play and does not record the Song or Track that you have playing in the background that is coming from inside the mimic.
    i hope these are just new release type issues that will be fixed FAST with a update?
    I dont want to go back to my old Module......
    Thanks for your time. KZ

    Hi,

    Now I get it.

    The Mimic does not pass the Aux input to the outputs.

    It only plays back the track from the recorder and you want a realtime feed in the outputs.

    I will see if we can find a way to add that to our routing system.

    Since the unit is not a full fledged DAW, you can't overdub your drums to an existing track.

    This thing is still evolving and we will try to included as many features as we can to the OS in the future.

    Thanks,
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  5. Registered User

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I agree to say I want that feature also. Would be nice to route the AUX INPUT to a PA or Monitor. I know that I am not the only user who wants that.
    Thanks very much.

  6. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Hi,

    As you have already seen on the other forums, the design team is working on that option.
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  7. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Hi,

    As you have already seen on the other forums, the design team is working on that option.
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •