Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cajons

1. Registered User

Default Cajons

I've been playing the kit for about 6 years now and am looking to try my hand at the cajon. I have a buddy who plays acoustic shows and I want to get a cajon to play along with him at some of his performances. Being a moderately experienced drummer but having never tried a cajon before, what models of cajons can you guys recommend? I don't need anything too fancy or expensive, just something that would be good for acoustic performances and casual jam sessions. Hoping to keep it under $200.
    Vision VB - Mirror Chrome Finish
    Toms: 12", 13", 16"| Snare: 14" | Kick: 22"

Sabian Cymbals
    Xs20: Medium Hats 14", Medium Ride 20", Medium Thin Crashes 16" & 18", Splash 10" | Vault: Chad Smith Holy China 19"

2. Registered User

Cajon market is really exploding. So many makers and models out there. You're best bet for starters is to go to a store that has a bunch on the floor, and try a few out. Some are solid wood boxes which deliver a conga-like sound; others have floating face-board, with more of a rapping sound. And some are further enhanced with snare wires underneath. Do you have experience with hand-drumming ? The special cajon broom-brushes are becoming popular for 3 reasons that I figure : 1. drummers more comfortable playing with brushes than their bare hands. 2. different sound than hands. 3. you don't have to hunch over as much to play the cajon.

These recommndations are a little pricier, but Meinl and Schlagwerk both have other models for under $200 :

http://www.songsimian.com/best-cajon...-money-review/

3. Registered User

Hungry,

A great cajon to start with is the Pearl "Club Cajon." You can get it for about $100. It has a great bass and snare sound.

https://www.google.com/#q=pearl+club+cajon
    2019 Masterworks / Matte Black

18x20 KD, 14x16 FT, 12x14 FT, 8x10 TT, 5x13 SD

2017 Masterworks Cocktail Kit / ES Comet Sparkle