Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. Jawjadrummer

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Saint Augustine FL
    Posts
    60

    Default Recording software for Epro... Using USB out

    Looking for the best recording software for the my Epro kit. I am running windows 7 on a hotrod processor and 4 ram of memory. 42" monitor in my drum room with decent playback monitors. Just looking to find the best software to use for the best price.... value for the $$ spent! I'm not a recording engineer so, simplistic software would be really cool. Being able to trigger new sounds is also cool but not needed. I have looked at Superior and Slate. Thoughts or recommendations..... Thanks in advance!
    Gary Atkinson
    Session Custom Maple 6 Piece in Marine Blue Fade 10,12,14,16, 18X22 & 5.5 X 14", E-Pro Live V2
    Zildjian 16", 17", 18" Z Custom, 16" A Custom, 18" A Custom China, 10" K Custom Splash, 21" A Custom Projection Ride

  2. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    329

    Default Recording Software

    Quote Originally Posted by Jawjadrummer View Post
    Looking for the best recording software for the my Epro kit. I am running windows 7 on a hotrod processor and 4 ram of memory. 42" monitor in my drum room with decent playback monitors. Just looking to find the best software to use for the best price.... value for the $$ spent! I'm not a recording engineer so, simplistic software would be really cool. Being able to trigger new sounds is also cool but not needed. I have looked at Superior and Slate. Thoughts or recommendations..... Thanks in advance!
    Hi,

    There are quite a few options for digital recording on your PC.
    Cakewalk , Sonar and a bunch of freeware programs are available on the internet.
    I would try to find a program that one of your friends might be running so you can have
    a person to help you navigate the software.


    Bob
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  3. Registered User

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    I just bought my first sound card, the Lexicon (alpha), it comes with Qubase LE5 program (permanent license), it's easy to install and configure.
    The sounds are great.
    I'm using it with Pearl MP3 files, one track opened for the MP3 file and the other track for my ePro Live.
    Just tested it myself yesterday and record at the first time, lots of fun

  4. Masters Soldier

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    89

    Default

    I use Cubase Elements 6. I think they're up to 7 now. There are so many things you can do right off the bat with just the elements version ($70 - $100 depending on whether you get the student license or not). For recording just your epro drums, this is the most you'd need. I think you can add up to 64 MIDI and 48 audio tracks. The main difference between the elements version and the full version is the amount of tracks and the plugins. There are very few feature differences. I would download the trial version of cubase 7 an test it out to see if it ha an easy (enough) user interface. I'm used to it because of what was mentioned above. A friend of mine uses it a lot, so I picked up a few tips and tricks from him.

  5. Registered User

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Can someone explain, If i run MIDI out of the redbox in to my interface and then into the computer running my DAW software will i have the ability to assign each drum/cymbal to its own Channel for mixdown?
    I guess same question would go for USB, you mentioned a midi to USB? The redbox also has USB so can the either option go straight into the computer for multitrack recording? Say 12 channels, 1 fore each drum/cymbal?
    Brian in Montana

  6. Masters Soldier

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by briancayko View Post
    Can someone explain, If i run MIDI out of the redbox in to my interface and then into the computer running my DAW software will i have the ability to assign each drum/cymbal to its own Channel for mixdown? I guess same question would go for USB, you mentioned a midi to USB? The redbox also has USB so can the either option go straight into the computer for multitrack recording? Say 12 channels, 1 fore each drum/cymbal? Brian in Montana
    Both the USB and MIDI connections do the exact same thing. MIDI will allow you to go through your interface and USB can go directly to the computer. No matter which cables you use, it'll record in MIDI unless you mic your drums or your drum amplifier. Not sure what recording software you're using, but there may or may not be some way to break each MIDI "note" out into its own track. I've never tried it before.

  7. Registered User

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Trying to bring this thread back to life.... when I link my Redbox to Cubase via USB & select it, i get all of my Channels mapped correctly but the issue is that the hi hat & the controller don’t seem to talk to each other. It seems that the open hat & closed hat make the same sound regardless of peddle position. How do these three need to be setup so that the midi note is responsive to the peddle position?

    & is there anyway to record the redbox sounds to my daw via usb? Love the sounds from the redbox but not being able to use them for midi is a let down.

  8. e-Pro Live Specialist

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Music City
    Posts
    329

    Default Redbox

    Quote Originally Posted by briancayko View Post
    Trying to bring this thread back to life.... when I link my Redbox to Cubase via USB & select it, i get all of my Channels mapped correctly but the issue is that the hi hat & the controller donít seem to talk to each other. It seems that the open hat & closed hat make the same sound regardless of peddle position. How do these three need to be setup so that the midi note is responsive to the peddle position?

    & is there anyway to record the redbox sounds to my daw via usb? Love the sounds from the redbox but not being able to use them for midi is a let down.
    The hi hat is a tough issue through midi and it depends on what version of Redbox software you are using.

    Did you update to 2.00?

    If it is 2.00 you would have 150 kits instead of 100.

    You can use your usb to record midi and play it back from the Redbox.
    Bob Sabellico - Product Manager - Pearl Electronic Percussion Division

  9. Registered User

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Sabellico View Post
    The hi hat is a tough issue through midi and it depends on what version of Redbox software you are using.

    Did you update to 2.00?

    If it is 2.00 you would have 150 kits instead of 100.

    You can use your usb to record midi and play it back from the Redbox.

    Hi Bob, thanks for the response. I have the V2.00 installed. is there a guide anywhere that would explain recording with midi and then playing it back through the redbox? would this allow you to use the redbox for the sounds of the midi notes?
    Thank you.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •