Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 10 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Fappity Fap Fap

Default Multiple broken lugs on my Reference Snare :(

Ok, so I bought a new head for my reference snare the other day and was putting it on today. I notice that two of my lugs have cracked, and a few others have weird warping/pre-cracking to them, all in the same spot.

I have had this snare for a few years now and it has never left my basement or my hands for that matter. I tune it the same I always have which is tight, but not to the point of choking the drum at all. It has NEVER been dropped, bumped, or abused.

When changing the head I was shocked beyond belief. I find it hard to imagine even if I was using a drill to tighten this drum that the metal would fatigue and crack. Especially on a drum of this quality.

I don't know what to do and I am really upset right now. I have been playing drums for many years now and have always taken utmost care of my stuff. To see this happen to my "baby" just really sucks.

I will try contacting Pearl but I really don't know what will happen. What would replacement lugs cost? I doubt they are ANYTHING but cheap.

Attached Images Attached Images    

2. Is this Illidan?

That's quite terrible. Could be a design flaw, pm Al Percival and Gene Okamoto to see what they recommend/think about it. I'm sure you'll be taken care of.

3. Fappity Fap Fap

I am currently tearing apart the entire drum and now notice the same "distortion" on the reso side of the lugs. This not not just a batter side issue. It seems like something was wrong with these lugs when they were made and just took me this long to finally figure it out. The reso side on my Ref is much lower tension then my batter side.

4. Registered User