Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Registered User

Default Cymbal Technique?

so ive seen alot on this forum along the likes of "oh, youve cracked your cymbal due to bad technique"
    now im a newbie, so could you guys explain in great detail how are you supposed to hit cymbals not to crack them? what good cymbal technique?
    *insert witty signature here*

2. It is what it is

instead of striking the cymbal straight on, swipe the stick across the cymbal in a left-right or right-left manner, glancing blow.

3. Keep it Simple, Keep it Classy

one thing i can tell you is that your cymbals are as important as your drums. Theyre meant to be played, not hammered. Try using dynamics on them and see how much it takes for them to open up so you dont have to smash them to get a good sound.
    Follow your dreams before someone else takes them from you.

4. Registered User

First off it's important to use plastic sleeves and felts on your stands, so your cymbal has no metal-to-metal contact with the stand. Such friction causes the cymbal to "keyhole" and eventually crack. Also make sure the cymbal can move freely on the stand, so it can absord impact properly.