Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Pearl Forum Moderator

Default Interview with Michael Cartellone

#1: Michael, first off, thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to answer a few questions for your fans. The first thing most people notice when they meet you, is how down to earth you are. You are the one guy in our neighborhood that takes time out to actually stop and talk to people. How do you manage to stay a "regular guy" after all of your success over the past 20 years?

Thank You for the compliment. Honestly, Iíve always considered myself a ďregular guy,Ē regardless of what was going on in my career. I can Thank my parents for this. I was raised in a very traditional, blue collar, middle class, comfortable environment. Consequently, that instilled a very practical way to look at life. Even though I play in a well known band, I just think of myself as a working musician, who has been blessed to do what I love for a living.

#2: How do you stay motivated playing the drums day after day, year after year?
    The short answer is, I simply love drumming. Itís satisfying to me mentally and physically. Now, admittedly there are days where I may not be in the mood on tour. However, once the lights go down and the crowd roars, I always kick into gear.

#3: Is it tough being on the road after doing this for over 20 years? I get homesick after a few days!

Of course, I miss being home with my wife Nancy, but we donít let too much time go by without seeing each other. That aside, I think you can make the road as easy or difficult on yourself as you choose. I personally donít change any of my daily routine regarding exercise, diet or sleep- so I stay consistent that way. Also, I paint during the day in my hotel rooms, so Iím never bored.

#4: Let's discuss your current setup. What are your drum and cymbal specs?