Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tried 'em all and am going back to Pearl!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tried 'em all and am going back to Pearl!?

Some of you may know that I go thru kits like....well fill in that blank yourself..
    Helps to have a friend that is the mgr of a drum shop!

A current financial set back forced the sale of my Gretsches

This economy can kill folks!

Anyway, I am still a working drummer and need a reliable and great sounding gig/rehearsal kit. I still own my M Birch (love those drums btw) but have relegated them to the studio for tracking demos etc.

I happened to be browsing the internet (go figure) and happened across a great deal on what I think could be the perfect gig kit!

Musiciansfriend is selling a 5 pc. VSX in strada black (only) Gun metal sparkle on B/O. for $399!! Granted, it's a shell only kit with just the arms and multi clamp for the 14" rack tom, but I have boatloads of HW and just need the shells anyway.

Seems like a good price..right? I don't have any experience with the birch/basswood/birch shells. I had a VBX for a short time that to me was a great kit.

Has anyone used this kit (VSX) in a gigging situation? I will be setting up and tearing down alot..I wonder about durability and overall long term performance!? I can be a little rough on my gear so durability is key..as much as sound. I play Contemporary Christian rock/pop and some classic rock. I have a heavy hand at times.. How do these shells react to heavy play?

Sorry about all the n00b sounding questions. I feel like I have come to the right forum to get good imput! Thanks -PG
    MAPEX l PEARL l SABIAN

BOOM DA DA BAP DA BOOM BOOM DA BAP
    CDA MEMBER since 2006

As far as durability goes I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, but the VSX kits are all wrapped so you won't be seeing scratches any time soon. That's what really attracted me to them.