Custom Z / CZX Lacquer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Custom Z / CZX Lacquer

I recently picked up a Custom Z set (18x22, 12x12, 13x13, 16x16). I couldn't pass it up because of the figuring in the wood, the Birdseye maples, was so stunning. I bought it, knowing it had some issues. One of the issues was that it only had one Birdseye bass drum hoop, with a metal hoop replacing the missing one. I ordered a pair of Birdseye hoops from Stellar Wood hoops as they were the ONLY place I could find Birdseye hoops. Receiving the hoops yesterday, I pulled them out and immediately noticed they weren't lacquered. They do a good job matching the figuring (grain pattern) of the shells, but of course don't match in appearance. So now, I have to figure out how to lacquer these hoops, to not only match the shells but protect the hoops themselves.

So the question is, how would you go about trying to lacquer these hoops? I have no real experience in lacquering wood like this, so I'm really at a loss. My FEELING is to put on multiple layers, with a good high grit sanding in between each coat. I want to truly be able to protect them, hence the multiple layers. Which lacquer would work? Is there a lacquer that would "match" the Champagne lacquer of the Custom Z/CSX line? Am I on the right tack with multiple coats? Brush, Roll or Spray? It's NOT a rush project, as I have other stuff to work on such as cleaning up the hardware etc., so I can take my time and do this right.

Any help you guys can provide would be appreciated.
    John
    Attached Files
    Last edited by CoyoteG; 11-21-2018, 12:21 PM.
    Don't try so hard, the world needs Ditch Diggers TOO!!!!

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, "Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?" And I said, "Here am I. Send me!" -Isaiah 6:8

Pearl Drums - click links to see(SBX, MMX, BRX, MLX, GLX, REF, and MW), Pearl Hardware, Lots O Cymbals