• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tell me what I am looking for

http://i508.photobucket.com/albums/s...1/HPIM0913.jpg

I have the snare in the photo above. I don't care for the sharp, hollow
    and ringy sound I get from it's brass shell. The truth be told, I probably
    don't have it tunned as well as I could but I don't think better tunning
    alone would make me like it more for I am doing with it.

So what do I want out of a snare you ask?

Well, I am older self-taught, fair weather player just screwing around
    in the basement an hour or so a day. I have never played out and I never
    will. I take a lesson here and there when I have time and for me it's just
    about having fun and nothing more.

I do however want a good sound from my drums because if they don't
    please me I won't play them.

First off I would probably be best served if I got a 5 x 14 supra but I am trying to avoid a four - hundred dollar purchase due to my limited needs and talent. I was thinking if only I could get something with the sensitivity of
    the supra for around 300 hundred bucks it would be great.

I am not concerned with looks or signatures or projection. I would just
    like to get into a good quality snare that will stay in tune and capture
    ghost notes well and one that doesn't have to be muffled excessively
    to stop ringing overtones.

I can get a 5 x 14 supra from GC online for like 380 bucks. What else is
    out there that is close to it for around 280 bucks?

Please, don't suggest buying used on ebay as I don't use ebay and never will.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts..........

Rick
    Kurtz: Are you an assassin?

Willard: I'm a soldier

Kurtz: You're neither. Your just an errand boy sent by grocery clerks to collect a bill.

I'm thinking Arby's.

Comment