metal for jazz?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• metal for jazz?

Hi i made a new post cause i figured i may get more feedback. in the search for a new snare alot of you recommended a copper ff or tico torres snare now i have been playing drums for 7 years and i must confess i dont think i ever played a copper or aluminum snare how do these snares mearsure up for jazz? j/w

Copper and aluminum have a darker/mellower tone that steel. They are closer to wood in terms of warmth. They would work well for any genre.

Comment

Originally posted by Synth
      Copper and aluminum have a darker/mellower tone that steel. They are closer to wood in terms of warmth. They would work well for any genre.
      I actually used a brass pacific (4.5x14) for a small jazz group. It was nice because it had a brighter tone, which made it great for the acoustic setting I was playing in.

Comment

I use the Copper FF. I have a 14x3.5 size, though. It's a dark sounding snare. Copper gives a very dark tone.I have a Superhoop on top, instead of the Mastercast, to open it up a bit. I have mine tuned for pop music, very cracky instead of full sounding. It can be used for anything, however. I use it for some jazzy stuff sometimes.
        Pearl, the BEST reason to play drums

PDF PRESS

PHOTOGRAPHY - TWITTER - RUBBERDUCKY

Comment

Originally posted by Qball319
          I actually used a brass pacific (4.5x14) for a small jazz group. It was nice because it had a brighter tone, which made it great for the acoustic setting I was playing in.
          I'd like a 4x13" FF brass, and a 14x5.5 brass. I think it's the closest metal to steel, without the harsh overring. Brass is brighter and livelier than my acrolite.

Comment

For jazz I would use a maple snare, 14x5, or a metal but a ludwig (supraphonic or acrolite if possible).

Comment

Originally posted by Musashi