Best bass drum size for recording?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best bass drum size for recording?

I have a pearl reference (standard not pure) kit I have been using for several years. I have a 24x 18 bass drum which is awesome but it only has one setting...... LOUD as hell.

I want to get a second bass drum for the studio and am undecided on what to get. I want to get something more geared towards resonance than projection so a thinner shell. A pearl reference pure 20 or 22 inch is on my list. I was also thinking of getting either an mmx or even a birch masters as I have heard they are great in the studio.

As complicated a task as that is, the real question on my mind is size. I play EVERYTHING except for straight jazz, but lighter classic rock as well as hard hitting heavier stuff so I want something resonant yet versatile. The problem is I can't take a bunch of them home with me and try them out for month with different heads, tunings and so forth so I really want to make sure I make the right call on a big investment like this.

I know there are endless variables to recording sound so this question is pretty much impossible to answer straight so here is my question.

If you could get 1 bass drum (masterworks, reference, or other) to have in the studio what size would it be? I am really thinking about going with a 20x16, might be a nice alternative to my 24.

Thanks.

In my experience, a 20" is the most versatile size unless you need like a thunderous room sound, in which case you have the 24". Tons of punch and plenty enough low end for a close mic'd modern rock recording. Feasibly tunes up nicely for jazz when you need it. I like everything shallow, but 20x16" is a pretty tried and true size.

Comment

What kind of music are you recording? That's the first question.
      Pearl Reference Drums - Sabian - Evans - Vater

22x20x2 18x16 16x16 13x9 12x8 14x6.5

sigpic

Comment