PDA

View Full Version : Heads for Ferrone Snare

LGD
02-16-2003, 08:47 PM
I just got a Steve Ferrone snare and am looking for some recommendations on new heads for it. I am a beginner drummer and upgraded the snare that came with my set. I play mainly rock so I like the deeper sound. The music store here suggested a Remo Powerstoke 3 and a Remo Hazy snare. What do you guys think? I don't like a lot of ring or resonance.

Thanks for the help!

Jeff Wald
03-03-2003, 02:02 PM
i personally like the aquarian satin finish (coated) head on my ferrone snare. and i'll play rock w/ it as well & it really cuts thru but is also senstive for lighter stuff i'll do.
tha's just my opinion

agulbrandson
03-03-2003, 04:23 PM
Try a coated Evans G2 / Coated Remo Emperor on top... bottom, hazy 300 from evans

Monday317
03-04-2003, 09:29 AM
If you don't care for the ring--I don't either--throw a Studio Ring on the head. That'll dry the sound out nicely without killing the drum altogether.

LGD
03-08-2003, 09:04 PM
Originally posted by Jeff Wald
i personally like the aquarian satin finish (coated) head on my ferrone snare. and i'll play rock w/ it as well & it really cuts thru but is also senstive for lighter stuff i'll do.
tha's just my opinion

Thanks for the suggestion. Since you also have a Ferrone, I have one more quick question for you...do you have any trouble tightening the lugs by hand. About six of the lugs on mine will only hand tightened about half way (leaving them about 3/4" above the rim) then I need to use a drum key.

Jeff Wald
03-09-2003, 12:11 PM
i'm not sure exactly what you mean but i just hand tighten them as far as they go & then use the key. i don't think that any of them get stuck, or put it this way - i've never noticed anything strange when tuning it - and i tore it down to the shell friday to clean it & the gold rims. no problems putting it back.
let me know if this helps/you need more info.

LGD
03-09-2003, 05:42 PM
Originally posted by Jeff Wald