PDA

View Full Version : Number of lugs... plus hoops in general

WhatIsIt
12-28-2017, 09:06 PM
Alright. I've been playing drums for 25 years, or 17 years or something in between depending on how you count it. First self-taught, then regular lessons for about 2 years, playing in bands etc. But I have never gotten into the details, like shell thicknesses, hoop types, hoop thicknesses etc. For the last 16 years, I have had one drum set, which is a Pearl MLX set from '84 or '85. When I've seen "die cast hoops" and this or that being discussed in magazines I've really just thought "whatever, I have the set I happen to have and that's what I'm going to play on".

I very recently decided to get another set, and as it happens it is a Decade Maple set, 20/10/12/14 (and prossibly a 16 later, they're out of stock now). Since I've been so fortunate to have a professional level set from so early on, I've never HAD to wonder about any of this stuff. But now... I guess I should try to understand some of these things.

What difference does any of it make? The MLX's have 2.3 mm SuperHoops, the Decades have '1.6 mm triple-flanged' hoops. What does that mean? Does that alone make a drum sound different? Does that make them more difficult to tune or make them go out of tune easier? Are they going to bend or break?

The Decade floor toms, even the 16" one has only 6 lugs (the MLX one has 8). What's the difference there? Is that alone going to make it excessively difficult or impossible to get the tuning right?

If thicker/stronger hoops would be a significant improvement in some way, where would I get them? Who makes 2.3 mm 16" hoops with only 6 lugs?

A couple of questions there. Help and information is much appreciated.

notoriousRJD
12-29-2017, 05:57 AM