PDA

View Full Version : Would this rack be adequate for my kit?



reaper_tbs
07-23-2010, 08:43 AM
Greetings, all. I was just wondering, being new to rack systems, if this rack -

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Pearl-DR-200-3-Sided-Drum-Rack-7-Clamps-/150471104791?cmd=ViewItem&pt=AU_Musical_Instruments_Instruments&hash=item2308c6d917

- would be adequate for my kit.

My kit is a Pearl Forum(i think?) 8-Piece Joey Jordison Signature kit;
Snare, 3 mounted toms, 2 floor toms, 2 bass drums, and i have 5 cymbal stands in use at the moment. I'm sure that i can buy more clamps if necessary..?

Will this rack do the job?

TalonTsi90
07-23-2010, 09:56 AM
Yea it should work more than enough, and i think you might have an Export, not sure the Forums came in Sig series, but you are overseas, so who knows? :)

mrblling
07-23-2010, 10:00 AM
they do sell the joey forum tal, at least in the UK, so its quite possible

reaper_tbs
07-23-2010, 10:16 AM
Ahh alright =] Thanks.

Also.. How would i go about setting my cymbals up with this? do i use the booms from the stands i already have?
And how would i be able to position it in a way where it still fits around my bass drums, since i have two? If it helps, i don't really use any cymbals on my immediate left, so i might be able to just have one of the arms in front of me, and the other two curving around to the right side, kind of?

TalonTsi90
07-23-2010, 10:49 AM
Yea, just pull the base off the stands and use the down tubes in the clamps, and the same for how you figured it out on the rack placement. Of course i placed mine like \_/ with the two kicks up against the legs, simply cause i needed to hang a tom on my left side.

reaper_tbs
07-23-2010, 10:57 AM
Awesome! Thanks a lot for that! I'm probably going to buy this then, as far as i can tell, it's a decent deal, and it's just within the limits of what i can afford right now!

I'm assuming i'll just do the same thing with my toms+tom-arms as i do with my cymbal booms?

TalonTsi90
07-23-2010, 03:00 PM
Yuppers :)

tenor man 36
07-23-2010, 05:11 PM
first b4 you buy i would check to make sure that you will be able to find clamps that are compatible with this rack those appear to be pc50's in the pics but im not 100% certain about that if they arent you may have a rough time finding clamps that fit

TalonTsi90
07-23-2010, 05:45 PM
Yes they are PC-50's but the newer PC-100 and PCX-200's will fit also.