PDA

View Full Version : Hardcases or Softbags??

David_DX
06-30-2010, 07:31 AM
I'm currently looking for both, and can't decide on which I should buy.

I already narrowed it down to "Hardcase" - hardcases or protection racket Bags.

What I need is 22x16/10x9/12x10/16x16 (dont know if the depth of the racktoms fit exactly)

In price the protection racket bags are somehow 60/70% of the price of hardcases.

If anyone has experience with either this would be very helpful, because I'd like to buy them soon for gigging.

I have a HN14S (Snare-Hardcase) from "Hardcase" and I think its pretty nice, but I have no experience with the protection racket products in person, so every opinion is appreciated.

chilledbongo
06-30-2010, 08:06 AM
i own a full set of protection raquet cases, and i can recommend them highly for local gigging, though maybe not if you are traveling longer distances and others are abusing/handling your gear.

ive had my bags now for a couple of years and they are holding up beautifully under near daily use and abuse. the exterior material is very tough and i love the sheepskin interiors!

one of the handles on the 22x16 kick drum case developed loose stitching. i emailed protection raquet with pix and they immediately shipped me a new case, free of charge.

i would go with them in a heartbeat for cases.

premiumdrummer
06-30-2010, 08:10 AM
I have no experience with either, but i'd go skb

Creekstock
06-30-2010, 08:12 AM
I have a combination of Protection Racket and Harcase cases. So I definitely think you're picking between the right products!

Pro Racket cases are great - strong, light, take knocks fairly well and pretty waterproof. Hardcases will give a whole lot more protection againts bumps and scrapes, but don't have the nice soft lining that the Pro Racket cases do. I have no idea if this lining makes any difference, but I like the idea of my drums being surrounded by it!

Two caveats: