PDA

View Full Version : double kick advice

radcaat
06-21-2010, 02:42 AM
hi there everyone at PDF!

so i'm relatively new to double kicking, despite my deep interest and extensive practice on them.

I have pearl powershifters (p122tw) pedals and have been playing with them for about 5 months or so now.
I've had a couple of problems with them, which have recently been fixed up (if u need more info on this i can link you to the thread) but i still feel that i'm not getting the potential from my pedals.

i play metal/hardcore with some pretty technical double kick work and can't afford to screw up when im gigging etc.

Basically i feel that i can't go as fast on these pedals as i can on other peoples pedals. I also can barely heel-toe at all on these pedals but can easily heel-toe on other peoples.
Is this simply down to the tweaking and settings of the pedals? such as the spring tension, footboard elevation, beater distance etc? or is it the pedals in general? i really dont know but i would like for someone to share their experience with these pedals and perhaps share with me how you have set up and tweaked your pedals.

If you like, provide some pictures showing me the spring tensions and so forth. I feel that my pedals have a low footboard with fairly loose spring which i thought would be beneficial for faster double kicking, perhaps i am wrong?

sorry about the long post, i hope you can help xD

GTHO_PhaseIII
06-21-2010, 03:08 AM
What sort of speeds are you able to reach now as it is? If you really feel you're being held back by the pedals, have a play around on other peoples stuff (as you say you've done), pick the one you like, buy it - and leave it at that. Spend an hour or so messing about with different settings to find what you like, then just play. There is no magic setting or ultimate pedal, just let your feet get used to what's under them and go from there. Your feet will never be faster than the pedal.

radcaat
06-21-2010, 03:26 AM