Pearl Drummers Forum - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Dirtysticks

Default Pearl Sensitone Custom Brass 5.5x13 ( discontinued)

I am so happy to have gotten a Brass Sensitone 5.5x13 today. It looks to be in pretty much new condition and it sounds amazing! I love it... it is a versatile snare as well, even though I have it franked a little above mid range for great pop and attack with great tone and body.

I work at a storage company and a tenant had abandoned a storage unit. A coworker saw a snare in the unit, and knew I was a drummer so they gave it to me, because we were going to toss just about all of the contents away. The snare was an uninspiring OCDP 7X13 In Ash veneer finish. It didnt really cause much joy to get it because I'm not that impressed by OCDP's production line, but at least it was free. I knew I wasn't gonna keep it too long so today on my lunch I went to see what I could trade it for, and that's when I spotted this sensitione in the snare section at Guitar Center.

It was all dusty, but with a new Evans HD dry snare head on it, it sounded good. But I knew it could be better. I swapped the HD dry for the Aquarian High Velocity on the OCDP, and voila!!! Instant perfection. This one is definitely keeper. I traded in the OCDP, paid a $40 difference and I couldn't be happier about it. I love this size and the sound of the brass.

I'll post some pics when I get a chance.
    Last edited by marquisjohnson22; 03-21-2012 at 10:34 PM.
    Pearl Masters Studio 5pc
    Pearl Prestige Session select 6pc
    MIJ Tama Starclassic 5pc
    Tama Iron Cobra/ Paiste Sigs and 20 Ser and Alpha
    An array of snare drums
    Live/Session Drummer
    Studio: Magik Eye Studio/ Campus Records
    Bands: Magik Shooz/ The Fyre Factory Band

2. Registered User

Never quite sure why they stopped making these, they're lovely drums. I had one for a few years when they came out and really enjoyed using it.

3. Dirtysticks